Available at: Whitey’s Ice Cream
Cost: About $4

Notes: Let’s step back for a moment and take a look at where we are. I eat (and sometimes make) pumpkin things, and I write about it. I write about it mostly for my own amusement, and anyone else who might be into that kind of thing. This is a serious endeavor mainly due to the fact that I will do things like eat Pumpkin Spice Peeps even though I don’t like Peeps.

So, imagine my surprise that I’ve gotten a bit of attention for this lark. WQAD did an online story, and then the Quad City Times interviewed me for their food section. Pretty cool. And if you’re joining me from one of those two sources, hi.

Can we talk about pumpkin shakes?

Pumpkin ice cream season at Whitey’s Ice Cream is a happy time for me. And I’d be largely content just eating the ice cream, harvest chippers, and the milkshakes… but with some obsessive craziness creativity, you can do even more.

In this case, I had them make me a pumpkin shake with both pumpkin ice cream and salted caramel ice cream. It’s hard to imagine that wouldn’t be awesome, and sure enough, it is. The caramel ice cream adds an additional sweet, buttery aspect to the already great shake.

I have given 5 pumpkin ratings to all of the Whitey’s pumpkin shakes I’ve tried, but in the interest of public information, here’s how I’d rank them.

  1. Pumpkin with cup a joe espresso
  2. Pumpkin with graham central station
  3. Straight-up pumpkin
  4. Pumpkin with salted caramel

But seriously, there are no bad choices on this list.

Rating: 

